[paludis-user] reset is now the default for git syncers

Ciaran McCreesh ciaran.mccreesh at googlemail.com
Tue May 25 14:59:51 UTC 2010


Gentoo users: this will apply from 0.48.0. Exherbo users, and anyone
using scm on Gentoo: this affects you as of now.

The default for repositories synced by git is now --reset.

What this means: If you have Paludis pointed at a local git repository,
make changes to that repository and commit them, and then use Paludis
to sync that repository against somewhere else, your changes will be
lost rather than merged.

If you don't do any work on repositories yourself, or if you don't use
Paludis to sync any repository you modify, you aren't affected.

If you'd like the old behaviour back, you can use sync_options =
--no-reset. However, you're probably better changing your workflow to
something like [1].

[1]: http://ciaranm.wordpress.com/2009/11/03/exherbo-development-workflow/

-- 
Ciaran McCreesh
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: signature.asc
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 198 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://lists.exherbo.org/pipermail/paludis-user/attachments/20100525/6aec0e75/attachment.asc>


More information about the paludis-user mailing list